Texan named NCGA president-elect

Texas Corn Producers Board chairman Dee Vaughan says he wants “to do everything possible to represent the nation's corn growers.” Vaughan was nominated earlier this summer by National Corn Growers Association's Corn Board as the organization's president-elect.

Vaughan, who hails from Dumas, Texas, currently serves on the NCGA Corn Board, and is Corn Board liaison to the NCGA Public Policy Action Team. He also chairs the NCGA Trade Task Force that works to coordinate policy with NCGA's legislative strategy, to promote the export of corn and increase the dollar value that producers receive for their product.

He recently visited European Union agriculture ministers and producers to discuss biotechnology.

Being elected as president-elect starts a three-year process of NCGA leadership. The first year is spent as president-elect, the second year is spent as NCGA president and in the third and final year, the elected grower is the chairman of the corn board. A delegation of the nation's corn growers ratified the nomination in July at NCGA's Corn Congress in Washington.

TCPB Chairman Joe Reed said, “We're proud of Dee and the efforts he is making within our national organization.”

Vaughan has served as a TCPB director for six years and has been TCPB secretary-treasurer for the past two years. He also serves as a director for the Corn Producers Association of Texas (CPAT).

While farm bill implementation takes shape, Vaughan points to the future as NCGA concentrates on trade promotion suthority, value-added and the Renewable Fuels Standard.

Vaughan has farmed corn, soybeans, wheat, sorghum and various grains for seed for 23 years with his wife, Terri.

In October, Tim Hume of Walsh, Colo., will hand over the president's gavel to current President-Elect Fred Yoder of Plain City, Ohio.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.