Boll weevil program extended in Southern Blacklands vote

The Southern Blacklands Boll Weevil Eradication Zone will continue with the present eradication program, according to the Texas Department of Agriculture. Southern Blackland cotton producers voted overwhelmingly in favor of the program — with 387 votes supporting a continuation and 12 votes against the extension.

On the same ballot, cotton producers elected Neil Walter as a board member on the statewide board of directors for the Texas Boll Weevil Eradication Foundation Inc.

The Southern Blacklands Eradication Zone is comprised of all of the following counties: Anderson, Brazos, Burleson, Freestone, Grimes, Harris, Houston, Leon, Liberty, Madison, Robertson, Walker, Camp, Wood, Upshur, Marion, Harrison, Gregg, Smith, Cherokee, Rusk, Panola, Shelby, Nacogdoches, San Augustine, Sabine, Angelina, Trinity, San Jacinto, Polk, Tyler, Jasper, Newton, Hardin, Orange, Jefferson, Chambers, Galveston, Washington, Montgomery, Coryell, Mills, Lampasas, San Saba, Llano, Gillespie, Kendall, Blanco, Burnet, Bell, Williamson, Travis, Hays, Comal, Guadalupe, Gonzales, Fayette, Caldwell, Bastrop, Lee, Milam, and Falls.

In addition, the Blacklands Zone also includes part of Limestone County south of Highway 84 from the McLennan County line east to the Freestone County line; part of Waller County north of Highway 159 from the Austin County line north and east to Hempstead, then east on Highway 6/290 to the Harris County line; and part of McLennan County south of Highway 84.

TDA sent out 720 ballots to eligible producers — receiving and counting 399 by the deadline date of March 19.

TAGS: Cotton
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.