Sorghum Checkoff Board announces new officers

Sorghum Checkoff elects officers Bill Kubecka leads group Board members appointed

The United Sorghum Checkoff Program announces the election of four new officers to the Sorghum Checkoff board of directors. The officers were elected during the Sorghum Checkoff’s annual meeting in Lubbock, Texas, on Dec. 15, 2010.

The Sorghum Checkoff welcomes Bill Kubecka of Palacios, Texas, as the new board chairman; Stewart Weaver of Edmondson, Ark., as vice chairman; Greg Shelor of Minneola, Kan., as secretary; and Earl Roemer of Healy, Kan., as treasurer.

“I am honored to serve as the next chairman of the Sorghum Checkoff board of directors and proud of the progress the checkoff has made in the past two years,” said Kubecka. “I would like to thank the outgoing officers for their time and congratulate them on the board’s accomplishments thus far. I look forward to continuing work on behalf of producers to improve the sorghum industry.”

The Sorghum Checkoff board of directors met in Lubbock, Texas, Dec. 13-15 to conduct business and approve projects for the coming months. During the board meeting, four board members were reappointed to the board by USDA for another term representing their fellow producers. Jeff Casten, Quenemo, Kan.; Dale Artho, Wildorado, Texas; Troy Skarke, Claude, Texas; and Earl Roemer, Healy, Kan., were all reappointed to the Sorghum Checkoff board by Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack and were congratulated by Craig Shackelford, who represented USDA-AMS at the meeting.

The Sorghum Checkoff board members are nominated by certified state organizations and appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.