Texas producers on 2011 NCGA action teams

Texas producers on 2011 NCGA action teams

Seven Texas farmers have been appointed to the National Corn Growers Association action teams, committees and working groups.

Last week, the National Corn Growers Association Corn Board announced the farmers who will be the members and leaders of the organization's action teams, committees and working groups for the 2011 fiscal year, which begins October 1. The group selected seven Texas producers for various positions within these groups.

The following producers were selected for NCGA Action Teams:

  • Grower Services Action Team – Jimmy Wedel of Muleshoe, Texas
  • Production & Stewardship Action Team – Robert Gordon of Dalhart, Texas
  • Public Policy Action Team – Scott Averhoff of Waxahachie, Texas
  • Trade Policy & Biotechnology Action Team – Steve Yoder of Dalhart, Texas

Additionally, Charles Ring of Sinton, Texas, was selected as the vice chairman for the Mycotoxin Task Force.  Pamela Yoder of Dalhart, Texas, was selected as a member of the Corn Political Action Committee.

Wesley Spurlock, current NCGA board member and Texas Corn Producers Board director from Stratford, Texas, was selected to serve on the NCGA Finance Committee and as the organization’s liaison for the National Chicken Council.

"The action teams and committees are an important part of what makes our association a respected leader in the industry and a powerful voice in Washington," said incoming NCGA President Bart Schott, a farmer from Kulm, N.D. "It was inspiring to see so many farmers with passion and dedication who were interested in sacrificing time for these volunteer assignments."

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.