Eigth annual Texas Commodity Symposium program announced

The eighth annual Texas Commodity Symposium will be held Dec. 3, and is hosted by Corn Producers of Texas (CPAT), Texas Grain Sorghum Association (TGSA), Texas Wheat Producers Association (TWPA), Plains Cotton Growers, Inc. (PCG), and the Texas Peanut Producers Board (TPPB).

The Symposium will be held in conjunction with the Amarillo Farm and Ranch Show in the Grand Plaza Room at the Amarillo Civic Center.

Registration will begin at 8:30 a.m. and the Symposium will begin at 9 a.m. The event is free to all and will conclude with a catered lunch at noon.

Key speakers on the agenda for this year's Symposium include U.S. Congressman Mike Conaway, who will discuss the 2008 farm bill from a policy perspective, and Farm Service Agency Administrator Teresa Lasseter who will address farm bill implementation. Former Congressman and House Agriculture Committee Chairman Larry Combest will give remarks from the Southwest Council of Agribusinesses.

“We're proud to offer attendees a great line-up of speakers at this year's Symposium who will lend useful insight into the issues affecting commodity producers' operations,” said CPAT Executive Vice-President David Gibson.

Other confirmed speakers include Don Gohmert, state conservationist for the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and John Fuston, state executive director for the Texas Farm Service Agency (FSA), who will be giving important program updates. Chris Albracht, morning show host and program director for KGNC Radio, will serve as the master of ceremonies for the event.

“The Symposium is a great opportunity for producers from different commodities to come together, exchange ideas and learn about the issues that impact their operations,” said PCG Executive Vice President Steve Verett.

All producers are encouraged to register early for a chance to win special door prizes. For more information, please contact Lindsay West, Corn Producers Association of Texas communications director, or Shawn Wade, Plains Cotton Growers Inc., communications director.

TAGS: Management
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.