Peanut Producers Board elections

The Texas Peanut Producers Board (TPPB) will be holding an election for four expiring directors’ seats began January 9 and ends January 23, 2010.

There are three seats open for election in voting region one, which consists of Andrews, Bailey, Brewster, Castro, Cochran, Crane, Crockett, Culberson, Dallam, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Ector, El Paso, Gaines, Glasscock, Hale, Hartley, Hockley, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Lamb, Loving, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, Midland, Moore, Oldham, Parmer, Pecos, Potter, Presidio, Randall, Reagan, Reeves, Sherman, Swisher, Terrell, Terry, Upton, Val Verde, Ward, Winkler, and Yoakum counties.

There is one seat open for election of an at large TPPB board member. The at large member may be from any of the 254 counties in Texas, as long as they meet the requirements below.

A person is eligible to vote in this board election if he or she is currently a producer of peanuts, or for at least one production period during the three years preceding the date of this election (Jan. 23, 2010), has been a producer of peanuts or has caused peanuts to be produced for commercial purposes. This includes owners of farms and their tenants or sharecroppers that pay the peanut assessment. Any person qualified to vote is also qualified to seek nomination for election to the board as a director. Qualified persons voting for a seat in voting region one, must reside in voting region one. However any qualified producer may vote for an at large nominee without the region of residence being factor. Nomination applications must be submitted to TPPB, and signed by the applicant and 10 other eligible voters. Nominations will be available at peanut buying point locations and county agent offices in all 254 Texas counties, or they can be requested by mail directly from TPPB at 4205 N. I-27, Lubbock, Texas 79403. If you request a nomination form by mail from TPPB, please include your county of residence.

Ballots will be available from Texas AgriLife Extension Service offices and peanut buying locations in each of the 254 counties where elections are being conducted. Ballots may also be obtained by mail from the TPPB office between January 9, 2010 and January 23, 2010. For a ballot to be valid, it must be mailed to TPPB, 4205 N. I-27, Lubbock, Texas 79403, with a postmark date of no later than January 23, 2010. Ballots with a postmark date later than January 23, 2010 will not be valid.

TAGS: Management
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.