National Farmers Union presents leadership award

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The National Farmers Union has presented its highest award to Rep. Charlie Stenholm, D-Texas, for his leadership in agriculture. Stenholm is the Ranking Member and the longest-serving member of the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Agriculture.

National Farmers Union President Dave Frederickson and Wes Sims of Sweetwater, the president of the Texas Farmers Union, presented the “Golden Triangle Award” to Stenholm “in appreciation for your outstanding leadership on behalf of family farm agriculture.”

“I am so honored to receive this award from the National Farmers Union,” Stenholm said. “I have enjoyed a long working relationship with members of the Farmers Union, and I look forward to working with them in the future, particularly as we approach the next farm bill.”

Sims presented the award to Stenholm at a reception the organization hosted on Capitol Hill last week.

“Americans are blessed to have the safest, most abundant food supply in the world at the lowest cost to the consumer,” Stenholm said as he accepted his award.

e-mail: [email protected]

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.