Texas peanut growers elected to National Peanut Board

Producers Board, Rodger Neitsch of Seminole was elected as board member and Tracy Welch of Plains as alternate to National Peanut Board.

Since USDA requires two nominees from each state for each position, Otis Lee Johnson and Weldon Shook both of Seminole were also nominated.

The nominees have been submitted to the Secretary of Agriculture to make the final selection. New three-year terms start Jan. 1, 2007.

Currently, Neitsch is the Texas NPB board member and Louis Grissom of Seminole serves as the alternate. The term for the current Texas board member and alternate expires Dec. 31, 2006.

TPPB held the nominations election to select a member and alternate to the NPB during a meeting on April 6, 2006, in Lubbock, Texas.

TPPB is responsible for coordinating peanut research, promotion and marketing programs funded by the statewide $2 per net ton voluntary checkoff and is the State Certified Peanut Producer Organization for the National Peanut Board. For more information on the election or any of TPPB programs call 800-734-0086 or visit www.texaspeanutboard.com http://www.texaspeanutboard.com/

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.