Texas Peanut Producers Board announces election for four director seats

The Texas Peanut Producers Board (TPPB) announced elections will be held in three of its five voting regions to elect four board members. The election will be conducted by voting regions and will be held Dec. 31, 2007 through Jan. 14, 2008.

There are two seats open for election in Voting Region One, which consists of Aransas, Austin, Bandera, Bastrop, Bell, Blanco, Brazoria, Brazos, Brewster, Brown, Burleson, Burnet, Callahan, Caldwell, Chambers, Colorado, Coke, Coleman, Comal, Comanche, Concho, Coryell, Crane, Crockett, Culberson, Eastland, Edwards, El Paso, Falls, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Gillespie, Grimes, Hamilton, Hardin, Harris, Hays, Hudspeth, Irion, Jasper, Jefferson, Jeff Davis, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Kinney, Lampasas, Lee, Liberty, Llano, Madison, Mason, Matagorda, McCulloch, Menard, Milam, Mills, Montgomery, Newton, Orange, Pecos, Presidio, Polk, Reagan, Real, Reeves, Robertson, Runnels, San Jacinto, San Saba, Schleicher, Sutton, Taylor, Terrell, Tom Green, Travis, Tyler, Upton, Uvalde, Val Verde, Walker, Waller, Ward, Williamson, Washington and Wharton counties.

There is one seat open for election in Voting Region Two, which consists of Armstrong, Borden, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Childress, Collingsworth, Cottle, Crosby, Dawson, Dickens, Donley, Fisher, Floyd, Garza, Glasscock, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hemphill, Hockley, Howard, Hutchinson, Kent, King, Lamb, Lipscomb, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, Midland, Mitchell, Moore, Motley, Nolan, Ochiltree, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Scurry, Sherman, Sterling, Stonewall, Swisher, Terry and Wheeler counties.

There is one seat open for election in Voting Region Five, which consists of Andrews, Bailey, Cochran, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Ector, Gaines, Hartley, Loving, Oldham, Parmer, Winkler and Yoakum counties.

Ballots will be available from the county agent offices and peanut buying locations in each of the 147 counties where elections are being conducted, or by mail from the TPPB office between Dec. 31, 2007 and Jan. 14, 2008. For a ballot to be valid, it must be mailed to TPPB, 4205 N. I-27, Lubbock, Texas 79403, with a postmark date of no later than Jan. 14, 2008. Ballots with a postmark date later than Jan. 14, 2008 will not be valid.

Voters will be voting for qualified candidates who have sought nomination within the respective TPPB voting regions where elections are to occur. All voters otherwise qualified to vote as peanut producers must reside in a county within the TPPB voting region where they seek to vote. Voters can only vote for candidates within the TPPB voting region where the voter resides. In addition to the candidates on the ballot, voters may also vote for write-in candidates.

TPPB is a research and promotion program for peanuts funded by a uniform peanut checkoff, collected from peanut producers in every county of Texas. This election in three of TPPB's five voting regions is the biennial election required by the Texas Commodity Referendum Law.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.